[]
[]

Henna House

Eve, Nomi (Book - 2014)
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
Henna House
Print

Item Details

In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them Nomi Eves vivid saga begins in Yemen in 1920, when Adela Damaris parents desperately seek a future husband for their young daughter. After passage of the Orphans Decree, any unbetrothed Jewish child left orphaned will be instantly adopted by the local Muslim community. With her parents health failing, and no spousal prospects in sight, Adelas situation looks dire until her uncle arrives from a faraway city, bringing with him a cousin and aunt who introduce Adela to the powerful rituals of henna tattooing. Suddenly, Adelas eyes are opened to the world, and she begins to understand what it means to love another and ones heritage. She is imperiled, however, when her parents die and a prolonged drought threatens their long-established way of life. She and her extended family flee to the city of Aden where Adela encounters old loves, discovers her true calling, and is ultimately betrayed by the people and customs she once held dear
Authors: Eve, Nomi, 1968-
Title: Henna House
Publisher: New York :, Scribner,, 2014
Edition: First Scribner hardcover edition
Summary: In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them
Nomi Eves vivid saga begins in Yemen in 1920, when Adela Damaris parents desperately seek a future husband for their young daughter. After passage of the Orphans Decree, any unbetrothed Jewish child left orphaned will be instantly adopted by the local Muslim community. With her parents health failing, and no spousal prospects in sight, Adelas situation looks dire until her uncle arrives from a faraway city, bringing with him a cousin and aunt who introduce Adela to the powerful rituals of henna tattooing. Suddenly, Adelas eyes are opened to the world, and she begins to understand what it means to love another and ones heritage. She is imperiled, however, when her parents die and a prolonged drought threatens their long-established way of life. She and her extended family flee to the city of Aden where Adela encounters old loves, discovers her true calling, and is ultimately betrayed by the people and customs she once held dear
ISBN: 9781476740270
1476740275
Branch Call Number: FICTION EVE...N
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 13, 2014
  • Cynthia_N rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Wonderful story! The author brought the characters to life and I was thinking about them even when I wasn't reading about them. The author made my world larger by creating this story which takes place in an unfamiliar location.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Sep 26, 2014
  • monique1390 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

monique1390 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at GL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41