Fangirl

Fangirl

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
112
31
22
 …
Feeling cast off when her best friend outgrows their shared love for a favorite celebrity, Cath, a dedicated fan-fiction writer, struggles to survive on her own in her first year of college while avoiding a surly roommate, bonding with a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words and worrying about her fragile father.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, 2013
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781250030955
1250030951
Branch Call Number: YA FICTION ROWEL...R
Characteristics: 438 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
penelopegomez
Sep 04, 2019

I was not a fan of Fangirl... honestly I had to do a lot of rereading because I kept falling asleep while reading this book. I think this book was kind of boring, but really well written. Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite writers, but honestly alls this book did was make me want to read her book "Carry On." The main character Cath is a super Fangirl of Simon Snow a character in the novel "Carry On," a lot of the scenes in this novel were scenes Cath writes as an "expansion" of that novel, so that the world of Simon Snow can never end. Cath is so wrapped up in this pretend magical world of "Carry On" that she forgets to live her life. This is the main point of the novel Fangirl, but it made the actual story of Cath kind of boring. It was all English literature classes, editing papers, group assignments and writing more Simon Snow stories. This book really brought me back to college, and it made reading this book feel like actual homework... I honestly didn't want to finish this book, but I did hoping that the potential love story between Cath and Levi would pick up the pace of this story. It was a very slow love story. (SPOILER) The first romantic scene revolved around Cath needing to read the book "The Outsiders" aloud to Levi. This 'love' scene although sweet, it literally revolved around HOMEWORK! I'd rather get teeth pulled, then have to ever write another essay again, so the fact that this entire book was like reading an essay just made me DREAD finishing this book. I really feel like I'm going to be the only person with this opinion on this book?! Everyone on Goodreads ranked it 5 stars... If you want a really honest interpretation of college and all its classes, then read this book. Let me know in the comments down below if you've read this book, and what your thoughts were. I'm curious to see if anyone had similar thoughts about this novel.

LPL_ColtonS Aug 23, 2019

I love EVERYTHING Rainbow Rowell! That being said, Fangirl is one of my all-time favorites.
Fangirl follows Cath, a recent high school grad with plans to study creative writing in college, but finds that not everyone has the same ideas of good, original writing. Cath's main subject of concentration is Simon Snow (a character similar to Harry Potter in this world), and specifically, his fan-originated love affair with antagonist, vampire, bad-boy Baz (basically Malfoy). So much so, in fact, that it has begun to affect her work at college. For me this story shows a very real part of life at that age; uncertainty. Cath struggles to find an original voice, to please her writing partner, her teacher, and herself. Each personal moment is accented with a snippet of her writings about Simon and Baz, and really brings you into both worlds at once when reading. I would recommend this to anyone, but especially a college aged person!

Fangirl is also available for checkout through our Message in the Margins book club in the Teen Zone.

If you're interested in more about Simon and Baz's relationship, check out Rowell's other title "Carry On" which is entirely set in the world of Cath's fandom. The sequel "Wayward Son" will be available for checkout soon!

g
green_ant_2572
Jul 30, 2019

I love how this book really captured the thoughts and feelings of a fanfic writer and a college girl perfectly. It was very interesting, and the name inspired me to check it out. What I didn't like about it was that it didn't seem to have a strong plot-it didn't quite thicken or take shape. The details given are really helpful and it was an amazing story overall, it's now a favorite of mine!

b
Beezer13
Jul 15, 2019

Fangirl has such a beautiful storyline. It takes you through family issues, schooling, and relationships. It is a relatable story, yet is creates a pile of places and characters that seem out of this world. Loved it, and would recommend to anyone and everyone!

n
navdamme
Jun 25, 2019

Compelling characters, natural storyline progress and realistic depictions of anxiety: my kind of book. My only complaint is that the ending felt a little rushed and a little weak. It is still a great read though and I am excited to check out some more books by this author!

t
terryginz
May 21, 2019

Rainbow Rowell knows how to keep her fans happy and interested in her books. After reading Eleanor and Park, I expected so much from this book and again I'd say I wasn't disappointed.

SnoIsleLib_AnnaH May 14, 2019

Fangirl explores periods of transition, social anxiety at college, changing identities, fandom, and what it means to be a writer. For readers who enjoyed Dear Evan Hansen and The Upside of Unrequited.

b
blue_book_169
May 03, 2019

This book is really good! It had me hooked on so much realism in the college setting. It's definitely a teen fiction and gives you the perfect recipe of angst, romance, and reality. I must admit that sometimes it gets a little cringey but *spoiler* these parts are only towards the end. What I like the most is when Rowell adds the snippets of Cath's writing into the story. This book doesn't have a really clear story plot but it's more like a daily life kind of story. If you've ever read The Little House on the Prairie or Warriors, it's a lot like that. Concluding my review, I really like this book, from a teen perspective, because it shares a lot of things you can relate.

d
dhspanda
Mar 29, 2019

This was a beautiful, unconventional novel that will really speak to you if you feel like you’re an unconventional person (not a bad thing!) The character development is top notch, I felt like I knew them personally. It’s one of my new favorite books now.

j
jamiewritenow
Mar 06, 2019

This is shelved in YA and it's good for teens, but if you're craving some college drama and romance, definitely check this one out! Also great if you love or write fanfic.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“But you're so helpless sometimes. It's like watching a kitten with its head trapped in a Kleenex box.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Sometimes writing is running downhill, your fingers jerking behind you on the keyboard the way your legs do when they can’t quite keep up with gravity.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“You’re never going to find a guy who’s exactly like you—first of all, because that guy never leaves his dorm room.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“That moment," she told Cath, "when you realize that a guy's looking at you differently—that you're taking up more space in his field of vision. That moment when you know he can't see past you anymore.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“You give away nice like it doesn't cost you anything.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“How do you not like the Internet? That's like saying, 'I don't like things that are convenient. And easy. I don't like having access to all of mankind's recorded discoveries at my fingertips. I don't like light. And knowledge.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“I miss you."
"That's stupid," she said. "I saw you this morning."
"It's not the time," Levi said, and she could hear that he was smiling." It's the distance.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“I choose you over everyone.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

View All Quotes

Age

Add Age Suitability
g
green_ant_2572
Jul 30, 2019

green_ant_2572 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

VegasTraining Apr 17, 2018

VegasTraining thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
AliciaMochi
Mar 23, 2018

AliciaMochi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 13 and 17

b
basmoyed
Jan 26, 2018

basmoyed thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

m
mausi13012003
Sep 20, 2016

mausi13012003 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 13 and 15

awebster92 Aug 22, 2016

awebster92 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

d
danaefell
Jun 20, 2016

danaefell thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

x
xzhang17
Aug 22, 2015

xzhang17 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

MrDrProfessorPatrick Aug 01, 2015

MrDrProfessorPatrick thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 28

w
white_dog_462
Jun 29, 2015

white_dog_462 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 16

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary
ArapahoeSusanW Oct 18, 2016

College transition, fandom and first love. Another winner from the author of Eleanor and Park!

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

Follows Cath Avery's adventures throughout college.

x
xzhang17
Aug 21, 2015

The events of the book take place during Cath Avery's freshman year at college. When it turns out her identical twin Wren does not want to room with her but meet new people, Cath is alone and without her twin's support for the first time in her life. The only consistency in her life becomes her daily posts in her lengthy and hugely popular fanfiction novel, Carry On, Simon. Between juggling a brusque roommate, her changing relationship with her sister, and her concern for her father's mental stability, Cath's college experience is a never-ending rollercoaster ride of both ups and downs that will expose strengths she never knew she had.

LibraryK8 Jun 24, 2014

In the age of tumblr, fanfiction and fanart, Cath is a relateable character for any teen who has geeked out over a book, tv show or movie. Starting her freshman year of college, Cath is facing several new obstacles. Her twin sister Wren doesn't want to room with her so “they can meet other people.” She is dealing with her father’s mental illness. And college has taken time away from completing her epic online fanfiction Carry On written in the world of Simon Snow (a character reminiscent Harry Potter). On top of it all, Cath might be falling in love with her roommate's boyfriend.

Notices

Add Notices
g
green_ant_2572
Jul 30, 2019

Coarse Language: There is some language used throughout the book.

m
MADKC4Ever
Sep 09, 2014

Coarse Language: The "F" bomb is used, though sparingly, throughout the book.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top