In the Wolf's Mouth

In the Wolf's Mouth

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
"A new novel, set in North Africa and Sicily at the end of World War II, by the author Julian Barnes called one of the best British writers to emerge in the last decade"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780374175825
0374175829
Branch Call Number: FICTION FOULD...A
Characteristics: 323 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Jul 24, 2014

The author of the Booker-shortlisted The Quickening Maze returns with a new novel. Set in Sicily and North Africa during the final days of World War II, it follows three different men: a university-educated British officer who discovers that logic and reason have no place on the battlefield; a sensitive American soldier ill-equipped for the horrors of combat; and an Italian-born translator for the Allies who has a secret agenda beyond that of aiding the war-effort. With its complex characters and interconnected narratives that unfold against a gritty wartime backdrop, this novel may appeal to fans of Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient or Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See.
Historical Fiction July 2014 Newsletter.

Age

Add Age Suitability

n
nafeesrawji
Nov 08, 2014

nafeesrawji thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top