Juana & Lucas

Juana & Lucas

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Random House, Inc.
Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpré Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.


Juana loves many things — drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or going to dance class. And she especially does not love learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? But when Juana’s abuelos tell her about a special trip they are planning—one that Juana will need to speak English to go on—Juana begins to wonder whether learning the English might be a good use of her time after all. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones — the heartsof readers everywhere in her first adventure, presented by namesake Juana Medina.

Baker & Taylor
A spunky young girl from Colombia loves playing with her canine best friend and resists boring school activities, especially learning English, until her family tells her that a special trip is planned to an English-speaking place.

Baker
& Taylor

A spunky young girl from Columbia loves playing with her canine best friend and resists boring school activities, especially learning English, until her family tells her that a special trip is planned to an English-speaking place. By the creator of One Big Salad.

Publisher: Somerville, Massachusetts : Candlewick Press, [2016]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780763672089
0763672084
Branch Call Number: E MEDIN
Characteristics: 88 pages, 1 unnumbered page : color illustrations ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Juana and Lucas
Notes: In English with Spanish vocabulary words

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
w
wmtlady
Sep 29, 2017

I had such high hopes for this book. The author has a great concept of exposing the reader to another culture and incorporating Spanish words throughout, but her execution needs MUCHO work. The book is written from one girl's perspective and the speech/vocabulary vary from that of a 1st grader to a junior higher. Half of the book is written in minute font inappropriate for a very young reader and yet the illustrations are juvenile and much of the book would be a turn-off to 4th graders and above. The author assumes that context will make the meaning of the Spanish words obvious, but that is not always the case. Great idea but not one I would buy for my class, school, library --or grandkids.

JCLChrisK Sep 21, 2017

A very relatable slice of a young girl's life, sharing stories about her interests, family, and struggles in school, who happens to live in Bogota, Colombia. Nice illustrations, accessible, and sprinkled with Spanish.

Mariangela_S Feb 28, 2017

Love the Spanish words sprinkled throughout the story! Delightful story about Juana's experiences with learning English and who/ what motivate her to succeed.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top