Beach House for Rent

Beach House for Rent

An Isle of Palms Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
"Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of the Lowcountry Summer series, returns to her beloved Beach House series with the highly anticipated follow-up to Beach House Memories and The Beach House!"-- Provided by publisher.
When Cara Rutledge rents out her quaint beach house on Isle of Palms to Heather Wyatt for the entire summer, its a win-win by any standard: Caras generating income necessary to keep husband Bretts ecotourism boat business afloat, and anxiety-prone Heather, an young artist whos been given a commission to paint birds on postage stamps, has a quiet space in which to work and tend to her pet canaries uninterrupted.
It isnt long, however, before both womens idyllic summers are altered irrevocably: the alluring shorebirdsand the man who rescues thembegin to draw Heather out of the shell shes cultivated toward a world of adventure, and maybe even love; at the same time, Caras life reels with sudden tragedy, and she wishes only to return to the beach house that had once been her port amidst lifes storms. When Heather refuses to budge from her newfound sanctuary, so begins the unlikeliest of rooming situations. While they start out as strangers, as everything around the women falls apart they learn that the only thing they can really rely on is each other.
And, like the migrating shorebirds that come to the island for the summer, these two women of different generations must rediscover their unique strengths so by summers end they, too, can take flight in ways they never imagined possible.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2017
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781501125461
150112546X
Branch Call Number: FICTION MONRO...M
Characteristics: 408 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pp47
Aug 01, 2017

As always a great read one of the best books I have read this yr, hope for a sequel, possibly with Cara. Such beautiful writing style with her love of animals and the sea, postage stamps was such an original theme, I never realized they were done by artists

c
caj1222204441801
Jul 19, 2017

This author does not disappoint. Her character are so real and entertaining. I have read all of her books and absolutely highly recommend.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
Jun 28, 2017

Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Karen White, will delight in Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe. A finely crafted story of love, fear, friendship and the courage to begin again. A great summer read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top