Roll

Roll

Book - 2017
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Baffled when birds begin plummeting to the ground, 11-year-old Ren discovers that a new neighbor is training the birds for competitive pigeon rolling and discovers his own potential for bravery when he begins learning how to train pigeons himself. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook. 25,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

Winner of the 2018 Burr/Worzalla Award * A CCBC (Cooperative Children’s Book Center) Choices 2018 Pick * A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017

A hilariously funny and poignant debut novel, perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli, Kat Yeh, Gary D. Schmidt, and Rebecca Stead.

When Lauren (but call him “Ren,” pretty please) Hall sees birds falling from the sky, he knows something is wrong. But just as he’s starting to worry, he realizes that the birds are plummeting toward the ground on purpose.

Turns out they’re Birmingham Roller Pigeons, and his new neighbor Sutton is training them for a competition.

Sure, it’s strange, but Ren’s best and only friend Aiden has picked this summer to start hanging with the popular kids. So Ren starts training pigeons with Sutton—what’s the worst that could happen? A bird falls on his head?

You’ll have to read Roll to find out.



Baker
& Taylor

When Ren discovers his new neighbor Sutton is training Birmingham Roller Pigeons for a competition, they strike up friendship, just as Ren's best friend Aiden begins playing basketball with the popular kids.
During the summer between fifth and sixth grade, comic book-loving Ren grows apart from his best friend and meets a new girl who is looking for a training partner for the upcoming pigeon rolling competition.

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062461223
0062461222
Branch Call Number: J FICTION MILLE...D
Characteristics: 206 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top