The Great Treehouse War

The Great Treehouse War

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
Penguin Putnam
Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie&;s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie&;s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.

By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses&;and her friends decide to join. It&;s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.

In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?

This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:

The Great Treehouse War

"It&;s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff&;s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."&;School Library Journal

"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."&;Booklist

"[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."&;Publishers Weekly

"A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."&;Horn Book

Lost in the Sun

* "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."&;Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."&;School Library Journal, starred review

"This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."&;Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars

"Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."&;Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder

Absolutely Almost


* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."&;Booklist, starred review

* "Achingly superb."&;Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Graff&;s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one&;s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."&;Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."&;BookPage

A Tangle of Knots

&;A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.&;&;Entertainment Weekly, A-

* &;Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.&;&;Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* &;Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.&;&;Booklist, starred review

Baker & Taylor
Fifth-grader Winnie, with notes from her friends, writes of turning her treehouse into an embassy after her newly-divorced parents become unreasonable, where she is joined by nine others with complaints.

Baker
& Taylor

A difficult custody arrangement in the aftermath of a divorce compels Winnie to barricade herself in a treehouse, where she is joined by friends who have grievances of their own. By the National Book Award-winning author of A Tangle of Knots. Simultaneous eBook.
After her newly-divorced parents become unreasonable, fifth-grader Winnie, with notes from her friends, writes of turning her treehouse into an embassy, where she is joined by nine others with complaints.

Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Penguin Young Readers Group, 2017
ISBN: 9780698195936
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

eBook available from OverDrive --- Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie's parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their house... Read More »

Ten fifth-graders go on strike against their parents by climbing up into a treehouse and refusing to come down. A funny and wise story from a favorite author. For kids in Grades 4-6.

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced, the day they decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse smack between their houses, to divide her ti... Read More »

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced, the day they decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse smack between their houses, to divide her ti... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Oct 03, 2017

In the Great Treehouse War by Lisa Graff, author of A Tangle of Knots, a girl, Winnie, has gotten serious about her life and tired of her divorced and feuding parents, has stuck herself up a tree which is technically on the land of an extinct country. Her demand is simple: She will not come down until both of her parents come up the treehouse together and talk to her. Though seemingly simple, this demand triggers a 2 week+ stalemate and when Winnie’s friends come join her, the story hits an international level. Receiving support and rations from around the globe, they are encouraged to stay for as long as they want. But one by one her friends leave for different reasons, but she is still holding out, for who knows how long. A must-read for all middle-schoolers who crave weird and unexpected comedies.
- @KingofTales30 of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

JCLChrisK Jul 15, 2017

This is a book overflowing with appeal for its intended audience. Empowered, independent kids who take on the establishment. A fun, diverse cast of characters. A "collective memoir" format that includes sticky-note editorial comments, maps, lists, emails, cartoons, and more. All built around a fun story. Graff's writing is strong, as always, and parents/teachers will be happy to know there are admirable adults mixed in with the silly ones and the characters learn and grow through their experiences. It should be deservedly popular.

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dolphin_7071
Dec 04, 2017

blue_dolphin_7071 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 99

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top