Unraveling Oliver

Unraveling Oliver

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
17
In this "compelling, clever, and dark" ( Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community--and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware. "I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her." So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel--a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil. Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease--until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma. In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation. With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is "a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense" ( Sunday Independent ) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2017
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781432842901
1432842900
Branch Call Number: LT FICTION NUGEN...L
Characteristics: 329 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
DELVEVD
Apr 24, 2019

Just finished reading this book in 2 days because i couldnt put it down...great read, good tale that lead to a great ending.

d
derilyn
Apr 18, 2019

Certainly, an enjoyable read.
Understanding Oliver, is this allowed in today’s, black and white, views of society?

s
shortie101
Jan 09, 2019

Wonderful read, finished in a day. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to pity or hate Oliver, loved how the story moved from past to present and so forth.
The story was a interesting and exciting from start to finish. Great debut novel, hope to read the follow up.

f
fperkin2
Nov 26, 2018

Outside the book One of us is Lying, I found Unraveling Oliver to be my second favorite book of the year. Unlike the sterotypical whodunnit murder mystery, this is the more “why done it” mystery. You get inside Oliver’s sadistic mind, and peel back the lairs of a mad man. Told through the perspective of about six people, one gets to see the modus operandi.
This book was fabulously written, and it was quite twisted up until its climatic ending that you could see coming in the last twenty pages or so. What I particularly liked about the book is how you feel about Oliver. You like him. You then feel sorry him, and then you hate him. You turn into a sociopathic reader as you go through the pages.
My only complaint as I would have loved to have heard more from Barney. He was in the beginning, and then the ending. He seemed to me the character in a movie that you would pay to see who is barely in it, yet when he is in it he steals the show. Also, as he shows up on random at the end did not really make sense. Other than that, a great read.

o
olioli
Nov 05, 2018

Read September 2018

k
kkucker
Oct 26, 2018

Why did this rather unsympathetic character bludgeon his wife; perspectives from many but not from her

SkokieStaff_Steven Aug 28, 2018

Liz Nugent’s “Unraveling Oliver” is a kind of Goldilocks of suspense fiction: not too cold, not too hot, not too short, not too long, not too soft, not too hard. In the first chapter, we learn that Oliver Ryan, a handsome, well-to-do, and suave author of a beloved series of children’s books, has just beaten his wife nearly to death. As the book progresses, we trace back the course of Oliver’s life through his own recollections as well as the memories of people who knew him. By the end, we understand what sparked Oliver’s heinous act while discovering a great deal about the deeply damaged man who performed it. Unlike in many thrillers, the characters in this book do not behave ridiculously nor do the plot developments unduly strain credulity. Nugent’s skillfully constructed book is thoughtful and measured, and all the more effective because of her restraint.

p
Pisinga
Jul 16, 2018

Suspense is heated with every subsequent chapter in each of which appears new facts about life of Oliver, both, from himself and from stories told by those who met him in the course of life.
For me, at the end, there was no moment for exclamation-what a turn!
On the contrary, the feeling of some everydayness. As if- everybody lived happily ever after.
Character of Oliver seemed to me not quite real. Usually those who grew up without a love of the parent, in adulthood try to be unlike the ones who brought them so much sadness. But here, Oliver is doing everything to win his father's love, to become worthy of attention of person who didn't have any feelings for him and just considered him as annoyance.

ArapahoeLesley Jul 06, 2018

A great cast of narrators make this book extra intriguing as we get to know Oliver how he sees himself and how the other people in his life see him and his relationship with his wife. You have to hate Alice for being such a dip, but Oliver's freakish charm does win you over a bit.

g
gbroser
Feb 21, 2018

Really enjoyed the twists and turns of this novel. Good read

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top