Select language, opens an overlay
Just Kids

Just Kids

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
52
1
Baker & Taylor
A richly illustrated edition of Patti Smith's classic memoir incorporates new material and previously unpublished photographs into the story of her artistic collaboration with Robert Mapplethorpe in the heyday of early 1970s New York City.

HARPERCOLL

Patti Smith&;s National Book Award&;winning memoir, now richly illustrated with new material and never-before-seen photographs 

Patti&;s Smith&;s exquisite prose is generously illustrated in this full-color edition of her classic coming-of-age memoir, Just Kids. New York locations vividly come to life where, as young artists, Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe met and fell in love: a first apartment in Brooklyn, Times Square with John and Yoko&;s iconic billboard, Max&;s Kansas City, or the gritty fire escape of the Hotel Chelsea. The extraordinary people who passed through their lives are also pictured: Sam Shepard, Harry Smith, William Burroughs, Allen Ginsberg. Along with never-before-published photographs, drawings, and ephemera, this edition captures a moment in New York when everything was possible. And when two kids seized their destinies as artists and soul mates in this inspired story of love and friendship.



Baker
& Taylor

An illustrated edition of Patti Smith's classic memoir incorporates new material and previously unpublished photographs into the story of her artistic collaboration with Robert Mapplethorpe in the heyday of early 1970s New York City.

Publisher: New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Edition: Illustrated edition
ISBN: 9780062873743
0062873741
Branch Call Number: 782.4216 SMITH SMITH
Characteristics: xiii, 365 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Singer-songwriter Patti Smith transports readers to what seemed like halcyon days for art and artists in New York as she shares tales of the denizens of Max's Kansas City, the Hotel Chelsea, Scribner's, Brentano's and Strand bookstores and her new life in Brooklyn with a young man named Robert M... Read More »

Just Kids begins as a love story and ends as an elegy. It serves as a salute to New York City during the late sixties and seventies and to its rich and poor, its hustlers and hellions. A true fable, it is a portrait of two young artists' ascent, a prelude to fame. Patti Smith would evolve as a po... Read More »

An illustrated edition of Patti Smith's classic memoir incorporates new material and previously unpublished photographs into the story of her artistic collaboration with Robert Mapplethorpe in the heyday of early 1970s New York City.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
RandomLibrarian May 07, 2020

I read this when it was first published and it's a wonderful memoir. It tells Patti Smith's story, especially during her childhood and young adulthood: how she met Robert, their relationship, the people they met, while glossing over details of her after that heyday in the 70s. There's a lot of name dropping; Robert and Patti lived at the Chelsea Hotel, so she mentions meeting Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, and others.

I really like the audiobook version, too, which is read by Patti Smith.

Patricia Morrisroe's book, "Mapplethorpe", makes a great companion to it, giving Robert Mapplethorpe's side of the story.

AndreaG_KCMO May 06, 2020

I love a book that evokes a time and place, and many people rave about this book for that reason among others. I hesitated to pick this up for about a year because I've never easily related to transcendental artistic musings about the inner self (though I respect and appreciate creativity in many forms). Entrenched in the seventies art/rock/literary scene of New York City as this narrative is, that angle seemed unavoidable. Patti Smith's storytelling filtered beauty out of the chaos and grit of near-poverty. She captured my attention without forcing me to entertain mystical ideals or an unrealistically glamorous perception of counter-culture.

OPL_AnnaW Dec 20, 2019

A beautiful tribute to friendship, chasing muses, and irrepressible youth. For fans of Patti Smith, Robert Mapplethorpe, art, and 1970's New York.

t
tk607
Dec 15, 2019

I give this book a five star rating because I am a Patti Smith fan. I was a child of the 60's but did not remember anything of Patti Smith when I picked up her book "Devotion". I then read "M Train" and now "Just Kids". Her words speak to me. It is a feeling that our path's have crossed.

HCL_staff_reviews Aug 12, 2019

Both a touching love story and an intriguing peek into a historical slice of New York City in the late 60's and 70's, this memoir is about the emergence of two talented and important artists, and their steady relationship throughout it all. Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe didn't have much when they started out together, but they had each other, which was more than enough fuel to feed each other's creative fires. Smith's tribute to Mapplethorpe is both tender and turbulent, but above all, it's a beautiful elegy. — Jane B., Linden Hills Library

r
rlbeekman
Apr 05, 2019

For a life and relationships of such inherent interest, this memoir is surprisingly flat and boring in the telling.

sclibrary_Rachelgail Mar 15, 2019

Loved this love story of a beautiful friendship. It was fun to grow up with Patti Smith and learn about her deepest influences.

t
tweedim32
Jan 25, 2019

I enjoyed this quite a bit. I thought it was a real love story, though not in a conventional sense. I later bought copies for two friends who love music and the arts. Quick warning it does have some lurid scenes - they didn't bother me, as i was expecting from an arts and rock n roll book set in the 70s/80s - but it may not be for everyone. It was impressive that Patti Smith "really" wrote it without a ghost writer, but with that said it wasn't Shakespeare.

m
mclarjh
Aug 01, 2018

Good (but not very good) writing; little self awareness; mostly a homage to Robert; for fans.

h
HARFANGORIA
Jul 03, 2018

This book will genuinely transport you to its time and place. To love the book, you need to give a hoot about life for a tortured genius pair, one proto-punk and one emergent gay icon, in the deliciously seedy NYC of the late '60s thru mid '70s. If this is up your alley, you just might plow through this little bible again and again.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top