Confusion

Confusion

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
World War II casts a long shadow over the lives of a British family in the third volume of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles, a family saga perfect for fans of Downton Abbey In March 1942, as the world reels in the aftermath of Pearl Harbor, the Cazalets are dealt another tragic blow. Eldest son Hugh’s wife, Sybil, has just died. Determined to make a future away from memories of the past, Sybil’s daughter, Polly, and Polly’s cousin Clary, leave the security of Home Place, their Sussex summer estate. But in London, their close relationship is put to the test when they fall in love with the same man. Meanwhile, nineteen-year-old Louise, middle son Edward’s eldest daughter, marries older, sought-after bachelor Michael Hadleigh, but life with the charming naval officer isn’t what the young bride expects. And Zoe, youngest son Rupert’s second wife, despairs of her MIA husband ever returning from war—even as she’s drawn into an affair with a divorced American airman and photographer. The turbulence of their own lives mirroring the unrest throughout the world, the Cazalets will be faced with a looming question when Confusion concludes on VE Day in May 1945: Will the end of war bring peace and happiness to their family?
Publisher: New York : Open Road Media, 2016
ISBN: 9781504034937
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: A. Uncle,- Book designer
OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

martha_w Jul 01, 2015

Cazalet Chronicle #3 is definitely my favorite entry in the series so far -- after spending so much time with the characters, the size of the cast isn't as overwhelming as it was initially, and it's satisfying to see these people grow and change as the war continues and -- finally! -- winds down. The period details are SO rich and impressive -- it's obvious that Howard was writing from her own memories of the war years, rather than the secondhand research writers today have to rely on. A solid read for historical fiction fans, particularly those with an interest in slice-of-life stories and the British WWII home front.

e
empbee
Jan 29, 2015

Good read. "O tempora , o mores!"
Perfect story for a BBC production as an individual story or as the final part of the Cazalet trilogy.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
GL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top