A New Selected Poems

A New Selected Poems

Book - 2000
Rate this:
The poems in this volume have been newly selected by Galway Kinnell from his eight collections published between 1960 and 1994: What a Kingdom It Was; Flower Herding on Mount Monadnock; Body Rags; The Book of Nightmares; Mortal Acts, Mortal Words; The Past; When One Has Lived a Long Time Alone; and Imperfect Thirst. Occasional revisions are addressed by Kinnell in a prefatory note. The life of this American poet is glimpsed over the years -- his childhood in New England, the early death of his brother, an exuberant youth in New York City, a wife and children, aloneness and new love. The natural world serves as backdrop to this life's journey, informing the philosophical and political poems as well as the personal works gathered in A New Selected Poems.

Baker & Taylor
A survey of the author's work includes poetry from his eight collections spanning from 1960 to 1994.

& Taylor

The Pulitzer Prize- and National Book Award-winning author selects poetry from his eight collections spanning 1960 to 1994 for inclusion in this sweeping survey of his work.

Publisher: Boston, Mass. : Houghton Mifflin, 2000
ISBN: 9780618021871
Branch Call Number: 811 KINNE
Characteristics: xi, 173 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at GL

To Top