The Piano

The Piano

Original Compositions For Solo Piano

Printed Music - 1993
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Hal Leonard
(Music Sales America). Six original compositions for solo piano, by Michael Nyman, from the award winning film by Jane Campion. English composer Michael Nyman has developed into one of the most popular, if not important, composers of film music, and his film score for the 1992 film The Piano is without doubt the most famous and familiar of his compositions. The tone of Campion's film is perfectly emphasised by Nyman's style and though much here is beautiful and rich, it is a haunting and foreboding sound picture that reflects the greys of sea, sky and spirit. Contents: Big My Secret * Deep Sleep Playing * The Mood that Passes Through You * The Attraction of the Pedalling Ankle * The Heart Asks Pleasure First the Promise/the Sacrifice * Silver-Fingered Fling

Publisher: London : Chester Music, [1993]
Copyright Date: ©1993
ISBN: 9780711933224
Branch Call Number: MUSIC SCORE 781.542 NYMAN
Characteristics: 32 pages of music : illustrations ; 31 cm
Alternative Title: Piano (Motion picture)
Notes: "From the award-winning film by Jane Campion."
Includes biographical note on the composer and program note by the composer


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at GL

To Top