Earth to Table, Seasonal Recipes From An Organic Farm

Earth to Table, Seasonal Recipes From An Organic Farm

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Documents the journey of seasonal foods from local farms to a restaurant through essays and recipes, while explaining the relationship between how food is grown and eaten.

HARPERCOLL

“A beautiful book in every way.”

—Michael Pollan

 

Earth to Tableby Jeff Crump and Bettina Schormann is an extraordinary, gorgeously illustrated collection of reflections and recipes in the tradition of Michael Pollan’sThe Omnivore’s Dilemma and Food Matters.Subtitled “Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm,”Earth to Table sumptuously illuminates how good food is grown and how it comes to us—followingover the course of one year, the journey from farm to restaurant of delicious organic produce. Featuring thoughts and recipes from some of the world’s most renowned and innovative “slow food” chefs—including Dan Barber (Blue Hill), Thomas Keller (The French Laundry), Matthew Dillon (Sitka and Spruce), and Heston Blumenthal (The Fat Duck)—here is a glorious celebration of the best things on earth, fromEarth to Table.



Baker
& Taylor

Includes reflections and one hundred recipes--including Nettle Linguini, Venison Pub Pie with Parsnips and Chestnuts, and more-- that follow, over the course of a year, the journey from farm to restaurant, illuminating the relationship between how food is grown and how we eat it. 30,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York, NY : Ecco, [2009]
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2009
ISBN: 9780061825941
0061825948
Branch Call Number: 641.563 CRUMP
Characteristics: 326 pages : color illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Schormann, Bettina
Notes: Includes index

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
McCaig
May 13, 2010

Although the premise of the book is great and the recipes fairly simple, I found myself not all that excited about them. Good book, worth a look especially if you're not all too sure about the whole local craze just yet, but I found myslef skipping over too many recipes to give this book 5 stars.

a
alhutton
May 01, 2010

Cookbooks -- 36

p.36 "How to Foraging" -- Romantic notions of foraging "No food miles, no pesticides, no exploitation, no middlemen and no markup" -- "it's not just local, it's micro local" -- yes but most of the time for urban readers it is also trespassing (which the book ignores).

Having grown up on a suburban farm I know that foraging by people who don't own the land is trespassing and is often done with no regard to the plant stock or overall environment they are basically stealing from. Also, most wild blueberries these days come from ATV destructive escapades across fragile ecosystems in search of the mother-load of blueberries.

We need to be realistic about what we romanticize.

That being said, I like foraging. I love picking blueberries (sans ATV), finding wild mushrooms (morels, puffballs -- all I know/trust how to identify), wild asparagus and leek hunting, tapping a couple of maple trees and coming across other wild edibles. But it must be done with respect to the natural stock and the environment you are removing the food from.

And that sums up my view of this cookbook -- I really should have liked it. It was praised by Michael Pollen. The premise is sound. The photos are beautiful. But I could not get into it.

Maybe I was reading it during a local food "off season" (early spring) and was not inspired.
Overall, I found it a little over the top for the basic message of: find quality, local in season ingredients and don't do too much with them as they are good as they are.

Even though this book it is North American based and more based on our environment, I find the British Jamie Oliver and the Farmer's Market Cookbook more inspiring to be at least cooking in season.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top