Floors

Floors

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
15
4
Rate this:
Scholastic
Charlie had his chocolate factory. Stanley Yelnats had his holes. Leo has the wacky, amazing Whippet Hotel.

There's mystery and adventure on every floor.

There's no other place quite like the Whippet Hotel. Each and every floor has its own wacky design--and its own wacky secrets. The guests are either mad or mysterious. And ducks are everywhere.

Leo Fillmore should know everything there is to know about the Whippet Hotel--he is the janitor's son, after all. But a whole lot more mystery gets thrown his way when four cryptic boxes are left for him...boxes that lead him to hidden floors, strange puzzles, and an unexpected friend or two.

Join Leo as he takes the ride of his life, without ever having to step outside. As the hotel starts to falling apart and the mystery thickens, there's only one thing Leo can know for sure: The future of the Whippet Hotel depends on him.


Publisher: New York : Scholastic Press, 2011
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780545460927
9780545255196
0545255198
Branch Call Number: J FICTION CARMA...P
Characteristics: 261 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Turnham, Chris

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dudeo1
Mar 05, 2017

I've only read 3 quarters of it, but I have it on hold so I can read the last quater. So far It's being GREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ChristchurchKids Dec 28, 2014

Imagine if you could live in a hotel. Not just any hotel, but one where each of the rooms had a different theme. If you like cuddly toys, you could live in a room full of cuddly toys of every size, colour and type. If you like Playstation, you could live in a virtual reality room where you could be a character in any game you chose. In Patrick Carman’s new book, Floors, Leo lives in the weirdest, most wonderful hotel in the whole world, the Whippet Hotel.

Leo Fillmore and his father Clarence live and work at the Whippet Hotel as the caretakers, making sure everything is in working order. The hotel’s eccentric owner, Merganzer D. Whippet disappeared one hundred days ago and hasn’t been seen or heard from ever since. This leaves the mean hotel manager, Ms. Sparks in charge of the hotel, and when the hotel doesn’t work as it should, everybody hears about it. Leo spends his days helping his father maintain the hotel and making sure Betty and the other ducks get walked. One day, as Leo is returning the ducks to their pond on the roof, he discovers a mysterious box in the duck elevator. This box is the first of four that will lead Leo to discover the secrets of the Whippet Hotel and the mystery of the missing Merganzer D. Whippet.

Floors is full of wonder, mystery and mahem, and made me smile the whole way through. Patrick Carman has created this weird and wonderful hotel and filled it with one exciting room after another. There’s a Pinball Room, which is set up like a pinball machine, with bowling balls as the pinball and couches for the flippers; the Cake Room filled with real cakes that are delivered by the chefs each morning; and the Central Park Room which contains a scale model of New York’s Central Park. The characters are just as weird and wonderful as the hotel. There’s Captain Rickenbacker who thinks that his arch-nemesis is out to get him, the obsessive writer, Theodore Bump, and the nasty hotel manager Ms. Sparks. Floors is one of the most fun, imaginative stories you’ll read this year. It’s perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snickett.

5 out of 5 stars. Recommended for 9+

GhostNinjaAuthor72 Sep 17, 2014

Loved the book so much that I read it twice. Is a great, fun mystery that will keep you turning!

t
Thedarkking
Aug 22, 2014

Great mystery.
I wonder how all these happened in one small hotel-the picture of the hotel is on the back cover of the book, in case you didn't see.

s
sdceng1
Aug 02, 2014

This book has a lot of events that just wants to make you want more , and its just filled with adventures .

f
firered81
Jul 31, 2014

In my own personal opinion this is one of Patrick Carman's best books. Willy Wonka plus puzzles and mystery and Ducks!!!!

lakevilla_IDOL Nov 19, 2013

This book is amazing. It has a great storyline and pulls you in. And, the best part is that it is a quick read! I would definately reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys a book filled with adventures..... and ducks!

SPL_Childrens Oct 31, 2013

Welcome to the very weird, very mysterious, and thoroughly wonderful Whippet Hotel!

Every floor of the old building, where ten-year-old Leo Fillmore helps his father who is the caretaker, contains surprises and secrets. The building has an unusual design, and each room has a different theme. For example, the Pinball Room functions like a giant pinball machine. There is a Robot Room, a Room of Ponds and Caves, and a Duck Elevator.

The hotel’s guests are also quirky, such as the paranoid Captain Rickenbacker, the obsessive author Theodore Bump, and the colony of pumpernickel bread-loving ducks living on the roof.

Now, it appears that someone is trying to sabotage the hotel. Unexpected problems with the building are suddenly popping up everywhere. Merganzer Whippet, the hotel’s eccentric owner and architect, has disappeared. No one has seen or heard from him for a hundred days - and the mean manager, Ms Sparks, is in charge.

One day Leo discovers a mysterious box which proves to be the first of four containing cryptic clues to the hotel’s secrets and Mr. Whippet’s whereabouts. Leo finds himself involved in a mystery which must be solved – before it’s too late.

In following the clues, he encounters hidden floors, strange puzzles, fantastical inventions, nefarious characters, and plenty of surprises - as well as the answers he needs.

Ten-year-old Leo is an appealing, likeable protagonist, and readers will also enjoy the sequel to this imaginative story, entitled 3 Below. Both books would be perfect for fans of Lemony Snickett and Roald Dahl books.

1
123cdc1998
Aug 13, 2013

great book

n
navy_owl_34
Aug 08, 2013

LOVE THIS BOOK!! JUST FINISHED AND CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THE NEXT ONE!!!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

i
indigo_camel_48
May 29, 2015

indigo_camel_48 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

GhostNinjaAuthor72 Sep 17, 2014

GhostNinjaAuthor72 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

SPL_Childrens Oct 31, 2013

SPL_Childrens thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

g
green_turtle_555
Jul 16, 2013

green_turtle_555 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top