The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr., Aka Houdini

The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr., Aka Houdini

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
3
1
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
John "Houdini" Smith tries to write a book about his life, from his parents' worries about money and his brother in Iraq, to his new understandings of people, while he and his friends rake lawns in their neighborhood.

HARPERCOLL

For fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt's The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson.

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.



Baker
& Taylor

Thirteen-year-old John "Houdini" Smith tries to write a book about what is happening in his life, from his parents' worries about money and his brother in Iraq, to his new understandings of people while he and his friends rake lawns in their East Side Providence, Rhode Island neighborhood.
Thirteen-year-old John "Houdini" Smith tries to write a book about what is happening in his life--from his parents' worries about money and his brother in Iraq, to his new understanding of people while he and his friends rake lawns in their run-down Providence, Rhode Island, neighborhood. 25,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins Children's Books, 2012
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780061988905
0061988901
Branch Call Number: J FICTION JOHNS...P
Characteristics: 168 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

MissAnnie Jun 11, 2013

Narrative flows easily while the storylines cover a few serious topics such as the war in Iraq, bullies in the neighbourhood, parents facing unemployment and even cruelty to animals. Even so, there is lots of humour as the three young men, Jorge, Lucky and Houdini, try to make sense of their world.

cmueller715 Feb 20, 2013

I agree with super citrus. It had extremely grown up topics and I was shocked to find it in the hands of my 9 and 7yr olds. Was recommend by a librarian for 3rd to 5th graders. I whole heartedly disagree. Definitely teen and up.

kyle64star Jul 23, 2012

i love it! it,s great!

Age

Add Age Suitability

kyle64star Jul 23, 2012

kyle64star thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote

kyle64star Jul 23, 2012

my name is john smith,jr,but everyone calls me houdini

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top